A hearing was held after a Hoffenheim vs. Bayer Leverkusen soccer match in which Leverkusen headed the ball through a single broken strand of the side net, much harder than a normal goal, and the referee mistakenly said it counted. The Deutscher Fussballbund’s tribunal decided to let Hoffenheim’s loss stand. They said the ref made a “facts decision” [Tatsachenentscheidung]. D.F.B. officials regretted that no one is happy about this.
ZDF heute journal’s Marietta Slomka: “When is a goal not a goal? When it’s still a goal.”
(Fun TOME tor.)